ChipmunkI enjoy trying new things.  Chipmunk reminds me that adventure is fun; actually even good for me.  No matter what, when I watch Chipmunk appear and then disappear in and out of spaces, all I can do is smile.  Chipmunk just makes me happy.

S.M.I.L.E – Simple Messages In Life’s Eye

This blog was started to share positive messages; to find something positive on even the darkest days.

For a good part of my life, I had felt, somehow pulled off track.  There had been way too many rainy days; grey cloudy skies.  I had nearly forgotten how to SMILE.

As we struggle to make sense of life events, our mind races with thoughts about how we’ve been unjustly treated, burdened, neglected. So many times, I have asked God for answers but never really waited to hear.  As a child, I was taught to pray but not to expect an answer. God is busy. And so, I learned to not ask God for help. I gave up on praying.  I quit going to church.

Listen!

One day, when I felt heavily burdened, I couldn’t pray, I wouldn’t go to church,  instead, I went for a walk.  I walked and let my brain race with noise! Then, for some reason, on this day,  something caught my eye. Why did this catch my eye?  For a moment, the noise stopped.  I just sat and stared at the beauty.

IMG_8639.JPG

 

I was looking at one brilliant lily.  I stared at it for a long time, just thinking how simple and beautiful it was.

I lifted my camera to capture it for future contemplation.  As I was trying to frame it, just so, in my camera, I became aware of all the “clutter” around it: crowds of lily pads, excess pond growth, fallen branches, even some human litter.  But, I didn’t want that in the frame of my camera.  That was… noise.  It ruined my reverie.

The beauty of a camera is that you can frame your photo;  zoom in on what you want to be in your frame. Then, later, crop it even more.  And so… I did.

Hear

It was then that I started to hear positive thoughts.

A lily perseveres.  

A lily keeps reaching for the light.

I heard it.  I actually heard it!  A lily doesn’t give up, doesn’t get distracted by the noise and clutter around it.  It just keeps reaching, on its own, reaching up to the light.

Believe

I felt myself sit up straighter, bolder.  Whatever it was that I had as a burden, on that day, seemed to now have a answer.  Persevere!  Keep reaching for the light!  I believed that I could do that.  I believed that I was as strong and capable as a lily…maybe not as beautiful…but YES, maybe as beautiful.

At that moment, I understood that God does answer prayers, even when you don’t think you’re asking, God hears.  Answers are all around me.  They’ve always been there.  I just needed to take the time to notice.

Listen…  Hear…  Believe!

And that is when S.M.I.L.E – Simple Messages In Life’s Eye was born.

Leave a comment